RTP Quality of Service (QoS)


The Quality of Service (QoS) of the RTP traffic is given in the RTP DSCP QoS tab via the Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) value.

The table indicates the most common DSCP values and their occurrence in all the RTP packets :

 ●  DSCP = 0 Default Forwarding which means no QoS implemented - this is also called Best effort
 ●  DSCP = AF31 Assured Forwarding Class 3 Low drop probability
 ●  DSCP = AF32 Assured Forwarding Class 3 Medium drop probability
 ●  DSCP = AF33 Assured Forwarding Class 3 High drop probability
 ●  DSCP = EF Expedited Forwarding
 ●  Other DSCP All Other DSCP values

For RTP the DSCP values EF is most common used.


Example of an audit :

VoIP Audit: RTP DSCP QOS values


Back Back to Online Help